Terrence Martell

Terrence F. Martell, director of the Weissman Center for International Business at Baruch College/CUNY, received his BA in Economics from Iona College and his Ph.D. in Finance from the Pennsylvania State University. He oversees a myriad of international programs and projects at the Weissman Center, and is also the Saxe Distinguished Professor of Finance. His particular area of expertise is international commodity markets, in which he teaches and conducts research.

Terrence Martell is chairman of ICE Clear US, the US clearing house for ICE’s futures and options trading, a director of ICE Clear Credit, where he chairs its Risk Committee and vice chair of ICE Futures U.S. He is also chairman of the Board of VVC, an exploration and production company that is listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange.

Satyarth Prakash Sethi

S. Prakash Sethi is University Distinguished Professor of Management at the Zicklin School of Business, Baruch College/CUNY. He holds a Master’s degree from the Delhi School of Economics, Delhi University, India, and MBA and Ph.D. degrees from Columbia University, New York. Dr. Sethi enjoys international recognition as a pre-eminent researcher and scholar in the areas of corporate strategy, international business, globalization and the multinational corporation, self-regulation and voluntary codes of company and industry conduct, environmental protection and sustainable business, corporate social responsibility and accountability, and ethical norms of business conduct. His writings have also appeared in major national and international news media including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Business Week. He created the project that would eventually become the CSR-Sustainability Monitor more than a decade ago.


Lene Skou

Lene Skou is the Deputy Director of the Weissman Center for International Business at Baruch College where she also teaches as an adjunct professor in the Department of Law. Previously, she served as Supervising Trade Policy Analyst at The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, and as the Law Clerk for the Honorable Richard W. Goldberg, Judge, U.S. Court of International Trade. Prior to working in New York, she served as the Head of Section in the Danish Department of Commerce and taught as an adjunct professor of international law at the University of Copenhagen Law School. She has an LLM in international law from New York University School of Law and a law degree from the University of Copenhagen Law School. She is admitted to practice in New York State. She has an interest in and experience with public international law, particularly in understanding soft norms and how they are used to create international governance systems in complex and values-oriented areas such as CSR and human rights.

Mert Demir

Mert Demir is the Director of Research of the CSR-Sustainability Monitor project at the Weissman Center for International Business, Baruch College/CUNY. Demir’s research centers around corporate finance, valuation, reporting, and corporate responsibility and sustainable business. Demir holds a Ph.D. in Finance from The Zicklin School of Business, Baruch College/CUNY and an MBA from the Middle East Technical University, Turkey. His research has been published in top tier academic journals and presented in several national and international conferences. Demir is also an editor of the Monitor’s annual report.

Alex Schwarz

Alex Schwarz is the Lead Analyst of the CSR-Sustainability Monitor® project at the Weissman Center for International Business, Baruch College/CUNY. After working on iterations of the Monitor for more than eight years, he now manages the team of graduate student analysts collecting data for the project, and assists with research endeavors utilizing that data. He holds a BSBA in Organization and Human Resource Management from Washington University in St. Louis.

Current Report Analysts:

  • Laura Agosto
  • Anna Chan
  • Qijun Chen
  • Alexander Fermin
  • Amira Fleyshmakher
  • Chandni Gupta
  • Mayank Kapoor
  • Barbara Kontic
  • Yelena Melnichenko
  • Elizabeth Rotenberg
  • Analysts from prior years